Wednesday, July 28, 2010

The Art Department - "Second Nature"

I know at least a couple handfuls of folks around town that have been eagerly anticipating the new Art Department LP, a release that's been in the works for a good bit of time. The band and GenPop Records are now happy to report that Paperwork/Birdwork will be released on August 15.

Lead singer Jonathan Ehrens kindly passed along the album to me yesterday, and gave me the go ahead to premiere a track. I chose the fifth song on the A side of the record.

Like the rest of the jangled pop we've come to know and love from this band, "Second Nature" gets straight to business and cuts out all the middlemen. All notions are made clear in under a minute and 40 seconds, and I'll be damned if you didn't bob your head from the first second on. Jonathan mentioned that Birdwork and and Paperwork were two distinct sides, and this track seems to be the high point of some incredibly reflective melodies found on the A side of the record.

This 12 inch record will play at 45rpm, and will soon be available for preorder at GenPop. Look for more on this release in the coming weeks, as it will likely be put on regular rotation for the weeks to come. Get the full track list after the jump.

The Art Department
GenPop Records 2010

Side A
1. Let's Imply Stuff
2. I Am Yr Censor
3. Get On
4. Not Called The Shots
5. Second Nature
6. Axe To Grind

Side B
7. We Are In Court
8. Standin' Around
9. Carolyn
10. Nothing With Ain't
11. Small Net
12. Pains Me

No comments: