Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Microkingdom - "Aire Metal"

Baltimore's Microkingdom is guitarist Marc Miller (ex-Oxes), drummer/composer Will Redman, and sometimes John Dierker on reeds. These folks have been blasting our fair city and beyond with their warped out and post-apocalyptic free-jazz journeys for the last few years. Their first two EPs were self released, but their debut long player will be released on vinyl via Friends Records this Fall.

Marc and Will have been working on this LP since their inception, and are now ready to share the result. The second track on the new album will be titled "Air Metal", a song in which the chopped and screwed version was found on their last EP, Spectacular Edges. The originally intended cut will now appear on Three Compositions of No Jazz.

<a href="">Microkingdom - Aire Metal by Friends Records</a>

Three Compositions of No Jazz will be the the fifth vinyl release in the Friends Records catalog, following up the Future Islands/Lonnie Walker seven inch and Bed of Seeds. Full length records from Weekends and Sri Aurobindo are now due out in July, while this will hit shelves in the Fall.

The cover art for this record is the work of Chris Day who is the owner of Lost Ghosts Records, has an amazing solo project dubbed Bear & Pieces or B&P, and who also plays in Witch Hat. Also, look out for a separate Microkingdom cassette release from Friends Records, which will be of a special Dischord-inspired set.

Three Compositions of No Jazz

2010 Friends Records
140 g Colored Vinyl
500 Copies

Side A
1. Peppermint Crab
2. Aire Metal
3. Real Constituent Planets
4. Gamut Runner pt. 1

Side B
5. Gamut Runner Pt. 2
7. The Myth Of The Rainy Night
8. Surgery Ghosts

No comments: